What We Learned as Interpreters in 2011.

January 2, 2012 § 1 Comment

Dear Colleagues,

Now that 2011 is history and we are working towards a fruitful and meaningful 2012, we can look back and assess what we learned during the past 12 months.  As interpreters our career is a constant learning experience, and from talking with many of my colleagues 2011 was no exception. I personally grew up professionally and developed a new global feeling and concept of our profession.  This past year put me in situations where I worked with interpreters from many fields and this made me realize how big and important our profession is.

2011 put me in direct contact with military interpreters and their instructors at DLI (Defense Language Institute) exposed me to the world of sign language interpretation in a way I never imagined: working side by side with ASL and Argentine sign language interpreters; and placed me in the middle of two forums where I saw the diversity and richness of what we do worldwide: InterpretAmerica in Washington D.C. and the FIT (International Translators Federation) Conference in San Francisco.

My 2012 was filled with professional experiences acquired all over the world as I constantly traveled throughout the year, meeting and observing new colleagues and catching up with good friends. Now, as I sit before my computer in my beautiful Chicago, I ask you to share some of your most significant professional moments during this past year.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to What We Learned as Interpreters in 2011.

  • Ben Boblis says:

    I’ve only started interpreting professionally this year and I love it. I am actually an American Sign Language Interpreter in Reno, NV. I really enjoy your blog as it gives me a different perspective on interpreting from the speaking side of it, as mine is not. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What We Learned as Interpreters in 2011. at The Professional Interpreter.

meta

